Arts & Humanities

[[Element: ]]

Explore Community and World

Kirkwood's Arts & Humanities department provides a place for exploring community and world cultures through art, music, philosophy, religion, speech, theatre, and world languages.

Arts & Humanities programs encourage critical and creative thinking for lifelong learning, and contribute to the college mission and to the community through exhibitions, concerts, theatre performances, and Study Abroad.

Transfer Interest Areas We Offer:

The faculty and staff of the Arts & Humanities department at Kirkwood Community College welcome you to the 2020 – ’21 season of Visual and Performing Arts events. We have an exciting slate of music and theatre events you won't want to miss.

Due to COVID-19, all fall 2020 events will be streamed online.

For more information on Kirkwood Visual and Performing Arts:
Arts & Humanities
319-398-5896
Fax: 319-398-7135
arts@kirkwood.edu

Arbe_Bareis_The_Touch_of_Brauen_Gourds2.jpg
The Touch of Brauen Gourds
Arbe Bareis
Oil on Canvas
Main Campus Library
Arbe_Bareis_Silent_is_the_Pair2.jpg
Silent is the Pair
Arbe Bareis
Oil on Panel
Main Campus Library
Arbe_Bareis_Searching_For_Willa_Cather.jpgArbe_Bareis_Searching_For_Willa_Cather_2.jpg
Searching for Willa Cather
Arbe Bareis
Oil on Panel
Horticulture Building 
Conifer_Smith_Jesse_Ahrendsen_An_Array_of_Glass.jpg
An Array of Glass
Conifer Smith and Jesse Ahrendsen
Glass
Jone Regional Education Center
Farrin_Laurel_Beltway.jpg
Beltway
Laurel Farrin
Acrylic on Canvas
Kirkwood Center for Continuing Education
Grant_Wood_Mural_Turret_Lathe_Operator3.jpg
Turret Lathe Operator
Sculpture by Sten Eisentrager After a Painting by Grant Wood
Brick
Jones Hall
Henry_Royer_Cathys_Wish.jpg
Cathy's Wish
Henry Royer
Stainless Steel, Corten Steel, Oak, Copper, Boston Marble, Imperial Marble
Jones Hall
Jafar-Mogadam_The_Story_of_Zal.jpg
The Story of Zal
Jafar Mogadam
Painted Tile
Cedar Hall
Jafar_Mogadam_The_History_of_Iran.jpg
The History of Iran
Jafar Mogadam
Acrylic on Canvas
Main Campus Library
Kevin_Tibodeau_StillLife.jpg
Still Life
Kevin Tibodeau
Oil on Panel
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
Louise_Nevelson_Box_Presidents_Office.jpg
Box
Louise Nevelson
Wood and Stainless Steel
President's Office
Mark_Hobley_A_King_Size_World_Cedar_Hall.jpg
A King Size World
Mark Hobley
Acrylic on Panel
Cedar Hall
Molly_Mason_Fountain_Before_the_Sun_Speaks.jpg
Before the Sun Speaks
Molly Mason
Stainless Steel, Stained Glass
The Kirkwood Center
Sten_Eisentrager_Arbe_Bareis_untitled_rec_center.jpg
Untitled
Sten Eisentrager After a Design by Arbe Bareis
Brick
Michael J Gould Recreation Center

Doug_Hall_untitled.jpg

Doug_Hall_untitled2.jpg

Untitled
Doug Hall
Oil and Alkyd on Canvas
Michael J Gould Recreation Center


Susan_Chrysler_White_Bloom.jpg
Bloom
Susan Chrysler White
Acrylic and Enamel on Plexiglass
Cedar Hall
Susan_Chrysler_White_It_Must_Be_Heaven_KCCE.jpg
It Must Be Heaven
Susan Chrysler White
Acrylic and Enamel on Plexiglass
Kirkwod Center for Continuing Education
Susan_Chrysler_White_Mad_About_Saffron.jpg
Mad About Saffron
Susan Chrysler White
Acrylic and Enamel on Canvas
Kirkwod Center for Continuing Education
Susan_Chrysler_White_Military_Cadence_KCCE.jpg
Military Cadence
Susan Chrysler White
Acrylic and Enamel on Canvas
Kirkwood Center for Continuing Education
Tonya_Kehoe__Silver_Flower_Horticulture.jpg
Silver Flower
Tonya Kehoe
Acrylic on Canvas
Horticulture
Tonya_Kehoe_Silver_Flower_2.jpg
Silver Flower #2
Tonya Kehoe
Acrylic on Canvas
Horticulture
Molly_Mason_Before_the_Sun_Speaks.jpg
Before the Sun Speaks
Molly Mason
Stainless Steel, Stained Glass
Conference Center
Susan_Chrysler_White_Military_Cadence_KCCE.jpg
Military Cadence
Susan Chrysler White
Acrylic and Enamel on Canvas
Kirkwood Center for Continuing Education
Susan_Chrysler_White_Mad_About_Saffron.jpg
Mad About Saffron
Susan Chrysler White
Acrylic and Enamel on Canvas
Kirkwod Center for Continuing Education
Jan_Friedman_Meditation_Series.jpg
Meditation Series: Red Dawn
Jan Friedman
Tapestry
Hotel Lobby
John_Schwartzkopf_Geometric_Tango.jpg
Geometric Tango
John Schwartzkopf
Paper Stone
Hotel Lobby
Conifer_Smith_Fused_Color_Fields.jpg
Fused Color Fields
Conifer Smith
Glass
Class Act
Conifer_Smith_Jesse_Ehrendsen_Meditation_Series.jpg
Meditation Series: Red Dawn
Conifer Smith & Jesse Ehrendsen
Blown Glass
Class Act
Erica_Wery_Topping_Out_Party_Murals.jpg
Topping Out Party Murals
Erica Wery
Student Culinary Lobby
Karen_Kilberger_Photographs.jpg
Karen Kilberger
Photographs
Culinary Corridor
Stephen_Metcalf_Hotel_Corridor_Paintings.jpg
Hotel Corridor Paintings
Stephen Metcalf
Oil on Paper
Hotel Coridors
Gene_T_Brown_Jesse_Ahrendsen_Painting_Blown_Glass2.jpg
Gene T. Brown, Painting
Jesse Ahrendsen, Blown Glass
Presidential Suite

 

 

 

 

Arts and Humanities Staff and Faculty

Dr. Jennifer Cunningham
Title: Dean
Phone: 319-398-4956
Email: jennifer.cunningham@kirkwood.edu
Office: 336 Cedar Hall

 

Ben Jensen
Title: Associate Dean
Phone: 319-398-4497
Email: benjamin.jensen@kirkwood.edu
Office: 336 Cedar Hall

 

Karla Scriven
Title: Visual and Performing Arts Coordinator/Advisor
Phone: 319-398-5896
Email: karla.scriven@kirkwood.edu
Office: 336 Cedar Hall

 

Cindy Wilhelm
Title: Department Assistant
Phone: 319-398-4913
Email: cindy.wilhelm@kirkwood.edu
Office: 336 Cedar Hall

 

Daniela Volkovinsky
Title: Ballantyne Coordinator
Phone: 319-398-4331
Email: daniela.volkovinsky@kirkwood.edu
Office: 336 Cedar Hall
Bill Stephens
Title: Associate Professor, Anthropology
Phone: 319-398-5899
Email: william.stephens@kirkwood.edu
Office: 1020 Cedar Hall
Education: M.F.A.; University of Iowa
Arbe Baeris-Moyyad
Title: Associate Professor, Painting & Drawing
Phone: 319-398-5704
Email: arbe.bareis@kirkwood.edu
Office: 322 Nielsen Hall
Education: M.F.A.; University of Iowa

 

Christine Flavin
Title: Assistant Professor, Photography
Phone: 319-398-4990
Email: christine.flavin@kirkwood.edu
Office: 314 Nielsen Hall
Education: M.F.A.; University of Iowa

 

Christopher Gray
Title: Assistant Professor, Glass & Sculpture
Phone: 319-398-4960
Email: christopher.gray@kirkwood.edu
Office: Art & Theatre Annex room 106
Education: M.F.A.; Tulane University

 

Tonya Kehoe
Title: Professor, Painting & Drawing
Phone: 319-887-3632
Email: tonya.kehoe@kirkwood.edu
Office: Iowa City Campus room 343
Education: B.A. and M.A.; University of Iowa

 

Greta Songe
Title: Associate Professor, Design & Printmaking
Phone: 319-398-5401
Email: greta.songe@kirkwood.edu
Office: 322 Nielsen Hall
Education: M.F.A.; University of Iowa

 

Zach Wollert
Title: Instructor, Ceramics & Sculpture
Phone: 319-398-4308
Email: zach.wollert@kirkwood.edu
Office: Art & Theatre Annex room 110
Education: M.F.A.; Kent State University
Christine Flavin
Title: Assistant Professor, Photography
Phone: 319-398-4990
Email: christine.flavin@kirkwood.edu
Office: 314 Nielsen Hall
Education: B.A.; University of California, Berkeley
M.F.A.; University of Iowa

 

Randy Langel
Title: Assistant Professor, Digital Media
Phone: 319-398-7163
Email: randy.langel@kirkwood.edu
Office: 1222B Linn Hall
Education: A.A.; Kirkwood Community College
B.A.; University of Iowa
M.S.; Arizona State University
Dr. Kristin Hanson
Title: Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 5339
Email: kristin.hanson@kirkwood.edu
Office: 1020 Cedar Hall
Education: B.A.; University of Iowa
Ph.D.; Louisiana State University

 

Dr. Lydia Hartunian
Title: Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 5707
Email: lydia.hartunian@kirkwood.edu
Office: 329 Nielsen Hall
Education: Ph.D.; University of New York

 

Dr. Chris McCord
Title: Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 5713
Email: chris.mccord@kirkwood.edu
Office: 309 Benton Hall
Education: B.A.; Middle Tennessee State University
M.A.; University of Memphis
Ph.D.; University of Nebraska-Lincoln

 

Clark Skaggs
Title: Assistant Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 5963
Email: eddie.skaggs@kirkwood.edu
Office: 350 Benton Hall
Education: B.A.; Southwest Baptist
M.A.; University of Central Missouri

 

Dr. William Stephens
Title: Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 5341
Email: william.stephens@kirkwood.edu
Office: 1020 Cedar Hall
Education: B.A.; University of Texas-Austin
M.A. & Ph.D.; University of Oregon

 

Dr. David Bullwinkle
Title: Professor
Phone: 319-887-3615
Email: david.bullwinkle@kirkwood.edu
Office: Iowa City Campus room 345
Education: B.A.; Brown University
M.A. and Ph.D.; Northwestern University

 

Dr. Natalia Cherjovsky
Title: Assistant Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 4249
Email: natalia.cherjovsky@kirkwood.edu
Office: 1019 Cedar Hall
Education: B.A.; Hunber College
M.A.; Rollins College
Ph.D.; University of Central Florida

 

Dr. Kevin Shroth
Title: Assistant Professor
Phone: 319-887-3943
Email: kevin.shroth@kirkwood.edu
Office: Iowa City Campus room 243
Education: Ph.D.; University of Iowa
Dr. Fred Kiser
Title: Director of Vocal Activities
Phone: 319-398-4959
Email: fred.kiser@kirkwood.edu
Office: 380 Cedar Hall
Education: B.M.; Bradley University
M.M.; University of Missouri – Columbia
D.M.A.; University of Iowa

 

Joe Perea
Title: Director of Instrumental Music
Phone: 319-398-5598
Email: joe.perea@kirkwood.edu
Office: 375 Cedar Hall
Education: B.M.; University of Cincinnati – College Conservatory of Music
M.M.; University of North Texas

 

Dr. Allison Holmes-Bendixen
Title: Instructor, Music
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 5708
Email: allison.holmes@kirkwood.edu
Office: 336 Cedar Hall
Education: M.M; Illinois University – Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D.; University of Iowa

Applied Music Faculty

Dr. Allison Holmes-Bendixen
Title: Voice and Vocal Seminar
Email: allison.holmes@kirkwood.edu

 

Ben Laur
Title: Voice
Email: benjamin.laur@kirkwood.edu

 

Jessica Saunders
Title: Voice
Email: jessica.saunders@kirkwood.edu

 

Lena Nichols
Title: Piano
Email: lena.nichols@kirkwood.edu

 

Dr. Seong-Sil Kim
Title: Piano
Email: seong-sil.kim@kirkwood.edu

 

Beth Hoffman
Title: Violin and String Ensemble
Email: beth.hoffman@kirkwood.edu

 

Dominique Archambeau
Title: Viola
Email: dominique.archambeau@kirkwood.edu

 

Jeannette Welch
Title: String and Electric Bass
Email: jeannette.welch@kirkwood.edu

 

Lisa Wissenberg
Title: Clarinet
Email: lisa.wissenberg@kirkwood.edu

 

Greg Morton
Title: Oboe and Bassoon
Email: greg.morton@kirkwood.edu

 

Bruce Western
Title: Saxophone
Email: bruce.western@kirkwood.edu

 

Andy Harris
Title: French Horn
Email: andy.harris@kirkwood.edu

 

Dan Towey
Title: Guitar
Email: dan.towey@kirkwood.edu

 

Juan Carlos Mendoza
Title: Voice
Email: juan.mendoza@kirkwood.edu

 

Rose Bishop
Title: Flute
Email: rose.bishop@kirkwood.edu

 

Evan Fowler
Title: Trumpet
Email: evan.fowler@kirkwood.edu

 

Dr. Robert Parker
Title: Low Brass
Email: robert.parker@kirkwood.edu

 

Joe Perea
Title: Percussion
Email: joe.perea@kirkwood.edu
Dr. Chris McCord
Title: Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 5713
Email: chris.mccord@kirkwood.edu
Office: 309 Benton Hall
Education: B.A.; Middle Tennessee State University
M.A.; University of Memphis
Ph.D.; University of Nebraska-Lincoln

 

Dr. Mark McCreary
Title: Associate Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 5404
Email: mark.mccreary@kirkwood.edu
Office: 309 Benton Hall
Education: B.A.; Samford University
M.A. and Ph.D.; Loyola University Chicago

 

Dr. Scott Samuelson
Title: Professor
Phone: 319-887-3946
Email: scott.samuelson@kirkwood.edu
Office: Iowa City Campus room 346
Education: M.A. and Ph.D.; Emory University

 

Dr. David Bullwinkle
Title: Professor
Phone: 319-887-3615
Email: david.bullwinkle@kirkwood.eduu
Office: Iowa City Campus room 345
Education: B.A.; Brown University
M.A. and Ph.D.; Northwestern University
Dr. Matt Hagele
Title: Associate Professor
Phone: 319-398-5426
Email: matt.hagele@kirkwood.edu
Office: 330 Nielsen Hall
Education: B.A.; Wheaton College
M.A. and Ph.D.; Florida State University

 

Dr. Peter Jauhiainen
Title: Professor
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 5709
Email: peter.jauhiainen@kirkwood.edu
Office: 330 Nielsen Hall
Education: B.A.; Wheaton College
M. Div; Princeton Theological Seminary
Ph.D.; The University of Iowa
Dr. Kristin Hanson
Title: Professor, Humanities
Intro to Theatre & Play Analysis
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 5339
Email: kristin.hanson@kirkwood.edu
Office: 1020 Cedar Hall
Education: B.A.; University of Iowa
Ph.D.; Louisiana State University

 

Dr. Allison Holmes-Bendixen
Title: Instructor, Music
Musical Theatre
Phone: 319-398-5708
Email: allison.holmes@kirkwood.edu
Office: 336 Cedar Hall
Education: M.M; Illinois University - Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D.; University of Iowa

 

Dr. Fred Kiser
Title: Assistant Professor, Music
Director of Vocal Music
Phone: 319-398-4959
Email: fred.kiser@kirkwood.edu
Office: 380 Cedar Hall
Education: B.M.; Bradley University
M.M.; University of Missouri – Columbia
D.M.A.; University of Iowa

 

Emily Ganfield
Title: Costume Design
Phone: 319-398-4913
Email: emily.ganfield@kirkwood.edu
Office: 341 Cedar Hall
Education: M.F.A.; Purdue University

 

Patrick Reading
Title: Set Design
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 2062
Email: patrick.reading@kirkwood.edu
Office: 365 Cedar Hall
Education: B.S.; Kansas State University

 

Brenda Falgier
Title: Assistant Professor, ASL
Phone: 319-313-5657
Email: brenda.falgier@kirkwood.edu
Office: Iowa City Campus room 135
Education: B.A. and M.A.; Gallaudet University

 

Dr. Julia Rabe
Title: Assistant Professor, ASL
Phone: 319-398-4964
Email: julia.rabe@kirkwood.edu
Office: 1018 Cedar Hall
Education: M.Ed.; Grand Canyon University
Ed.D.; Lamar University

 

Richard Heath
Title: Professor, Spanish
Phone: 319-887-3644
Email: richard.heath@kirkwood.edu
Office: Iowa City Campus room 344
Education: B.A.; University of Kansas
M.A.; Indiana University

 

Claudio Hidalgo
Title: Professor, Spanish
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 5915
Email: claudio.hidalgo@kirkwood.edu
Office: 310 Benton Hall
Education: B.A and M.A.; University of Iowa

 

Florencia Lynch
Title: Associate Professor, Spanish
Phone: 319-398-5899 ext. 5710
Email: florencia.lynch@kirkwood.edu
Office: 314 Nielsen Hall
Education: M.A.; University of Northern Iowa

 

Bridget Malone
Title: Professor, Spanish
Phone: 319-887-3618
Email: bridget.malone@kirkwood.edu
Office: Iowa City Campus room 344
Education: B.A. and M.A.; University of Iowa


Arts & Humanities Department
336 Cedar Hall
319-398-4913
800-363-2220
artshumanities@kirkwood.edu